PA Workers Comp
Class Codes (By Number With Description)

Need Commercial Insurance?

Request A Quote



PA workers comp class codes are three to four digit numbers assigned by the Pennsylvania Compensation Rating Bureau (PCRB). Workers compensation classification codes contain your industries injury rates & are used to determine your base premium cost.

Pennsylvania Workers Compensation Classification Codes

PA Workers Comp Class Codes

So what are PA workers comp class codes? Workers comp class codes are created by the Pennsylvania Compensation Rating Bureau (PCRB), an organization that according to them:

"The PCRB is a non-profit corporation formed in 1915 in accordance with the insurance laws of Pennsylvania and is not affiliated with state government. The PCRB's enabling statute specified that classification of employers, underwriting rules, policy forms, loss cost values and rating plans for workers compensation shall be proposed by a rating bureau situated within the state. The PCRB is subject to supervision and examination by the Pennsylvania Insurance Commissioner, who must approve its ability to compile loss costs on an equitable and impartial basis. The PCRB membership is comprised of all insurance carriers, including the State Workers' Insurance Fund ("SWIF"), authorized to sell workers compensation insurance in Pennsylvania.

The PCRB is not to be confused with the Bureau of Workers' Compensation, a division within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania's Department of Labor and Industry. That agency is responsible for a number of statutorily designated activities, including the conduct of hearings in contested cases involving workers compensation claims and the enforcement of requirements for employers to secure payment of workers compensation benefits for their employees. Although both the Bureau of Workers' Compensation and the PCRB are often referred to simply as "the Bureau," they are very different and distinct organizations."

For example, for a roofer, tree trimmer, or demolition company, the cost could be $17 per $100 in payroll, or even higher. On the other hand, the cost to cover a attorney, accountant or real estate agent could be under $0.20 per $100 of their payroll. So, for an employee that earns $40,000 a year, a blue collar contracting company could pay around $6800, where a white collar business may pay just $80. It all depends on the risk or injury associated with the code.

Workers Compensation Insurance Information

For more info including coverages and cost you can check out this article on: workers compensation insurance.

PA Workers Compensation Classification Codes List

PA workers comp class codes - some of the most searched class codes are:

... because the cost for Pennsylvania workers compensation base premiums are lower in these classes than most others.

Following is a list of the PA workers comp class codes. Both the code and class description are listed in numerical order:

Workers Comp Insurance Articles

If you are looking for more information on workers compensation: Pennsylvania Workers Compensation For Restaurants.

Further Reading On Worker's Comp Insurance

PA Worker's Comp Insurance Quotes

Pennsylvania Insurance

Request a Worker's Comp Insurance quote in Allentown, Allison Park, Altoona, Baldwin, Bensalem, Bethel Park, Bethlehem, Bloomsburg, Carlisle, Chambersburg, Chester, Drexel Hill, Easton, Erie, Fullerton, Greensburg, Hanover, Harrisburg, Hazleton, Hermitage, Hershey, Horsham, Indiana, Johnstown, King of Prussia, Lancaster, Lansdale, Lebanon, Levittown, McKeesport, Monroeville, Murrysville, New Castle, Norristown, Philadelphia, Phoenixville, Pittsburgh, Pottstown, Pottsville, Reading, Scranton, State College, Upper Darby, West Chester, West Mifflin, Wilkes-Barre, Wilkinsburg, Williamsport, Willow Grove, York and all other cities in PA.

Pennsylvania Insurance Regulations

There are some regulations when it comes to Pennsylvania insurance that you should be aware of. We will be looking closely at both personal and commercial insurance within PA to find out what the regulations and limits are, so that whether you own a business or simply drive a car, you are able to get the insurance that is required by law. Understanding what the law requires the first step to making sure that you are compliant. Let's take a close look at these types of insurance.

PA Commercial Insurance

First, let's discuss business insurance. There are lots of different types of business insurance that you can get, but the most common one out there is what is called commercial liability or general liability insurance. This type of insurance protects you in case you are sued by someone who comes on your property and is injured or has their property damaged by something that happens on your premises. This may be something as simple as slipping on a wet floor or it might be a parking lot mishap the damages the vehicles there. However, this is not a mandatory type of insurance required by Pennsylvania law.

There are two types of insurance that are required in Pennsylvania however. These are pretty standard across most states. The first is Worker's Compensation insurance which is sort of like health insurance for anyone who is injured on the job. In addition, Pennsylvania requires that commercial vehicles that are actively being used in a business carry commercial auto insurance.

Pennsylvania Personal Insurance

You also need to know what the regulations are for personal insurance. The first type of insurance we will cover is auto insurance. In Pennsylvania, you are required to carry liability insurance for bodily injury of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident. In addition, property damage liability coverage is required at an amount of $5000. You are also required to carry uninsured motorist coverage at $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident as well as underinsurance motorist coverage at $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident. Finally, Pennsylvania requires first party benefits medical payments coverage of $5000. This is a great deal more than is required in most states.

There also some life insurance regulations that you will find under Title 40 of the state statutes. A free look period of 10 days is required for life insurance, there is a grace period on payments of 30 days and there is a guaranteed benefits and cash value law as well.


Workers Compensation Insurance Class Codes

If you are looking for state specific Workers Comp Insurance class codes, costs and information: California Workers Comp Class Codes, Colorado Workers Comp Class Codes, Delaware Workers Comp Class Codes, Florida Workers Comp Class Codes, Illinois Workers Comp Class Codes,Florida Workers Comp Class Codes, New Jersey Workers Comp Class Codes, New York Workers Comp Class Codes, Oregon Workers Comp Class Codes, Pennsylvania Workers Comp Class Codes, Texas Workers Comp Class Codes.

Want A Business Insurance Quote?

Request A Quote

Contact EK Insurance to find out how much commercial insurance costs.